Bad Movies

Friends have asked me why I watch bad movies and in turn I’ve given multiple reasons. The overarching reason is that I love movies earnestly and uncritically. I can enjoy a B-movie for those tiny glimmers of originality. I can also enjoy when a movie trips up at every possible opportunity and creates a beautiful travesty; Ed Wood was a master at that. However, in my turn to blogging about bad films, I’ve found two more reasons: masochism and camaraderie. I came across a partial review of Anthole Dickfarm, wait sorry, Antfarm Dickhole, on Cinema Schminema. I took a quick look at the film and put it down. Then I came across a stream of consciousness style review on The B-Horror Blog and read that half the B-Horror crew was psychically scarred by this movie. It occurred to me that I had two options. I could either laugh at the reviews and move on, or I could watch the movie from beginning to end. Of course, I decided to watch it.

Antfarm Dickhole is a movie about a man who has a colony of ants nesting in his penis and he uses that colony to kill bullies and their girlfriends. The movie primarily consists of surface level discussion of biology and philosophy, painful puns featuring the word ‘ant,’ women in bikinis or completely naked, those same women covered in stage blood you can buy at a Halloween store and toy ants, and overall production values that make it look like it was shot on a handheld camera for Youtube. I’d imagine that most of the budget was spent on paying the ladies in this movie to get naked; it’s hard to imagine the director, who plays the character ANT-tony, could find that many women willing to strip for him for free.

If you don’t know what possessed me to watch this at all, let alone to completion, it’s because I was inspired to watch the film by my fellow bloggers. They didn’t recommend the film; if anything, they were putting up huge warning signs. However, I wanted to watch the movie because I wanted to join in on the discussion. For reasons I’m still unable to fathom, bad movies have their own dedicated community of followers, followers who can appreciate the beauty and/or the absurdity of these films. I watch these movies not only because I like them, but also because I like the weird people who are drawn to these movies. “But what about Antfarm Dickhole?” you might ask. “Even these bad movie bloggers revile it, so why did you watch it?” Well, ladies and gentlemen, it’s because I enjoy a challenge, even if it’s self-imposed. I once ate triple-atomic wings at a restaurant with the improbable name of Quaker Steak and Lube – it was a former car shop, not a former sex shop – that measured 500,000 on the Scoville Scale on the grounds that I wanted to know what they were like. Turns out, they were pretty fucking spicy. By similar reasoning, I wanted to watch Antfarm Dickhole just to see what it was like, to see if I could finish it. I didn’t get the surge of endorphins that’s released when the body feels pain, but I did get the satisfaction of living to tell the tale of seeing that wretched mess. I emerged triumphant from that movie to tell those of you who haven’t seen Antfarm Dickhole to never watch that film. Unless you are a strange, masochistic lover of bad movies with nerves of steel and the patience of a saint, don’t watch it. It’s almost the worst thing I’ve ever seen.

~ by vincentwolfram on October 7, 2012.

12 Responses to “Bad Movies”

  1. Thanks for the shout out! And well done for getting through it. And as a point, yes movies like this are awful, but it’s tremendously fun to put yourself through things like this 🙂

  2. Thanks for the shout-out! I’m actually really happy that people were inspired (not sure that’s exactly the right phrase…) to watch it and discuss. I feel like hunting down another “worst movie ever” so maybe this can happen again. 😉

    • Thanks for the reblog. I’d happily watch another “worst movie ever” on your suggestion. And then I’d probably regret it, but that’s all part of the fun of watching bad movies.

  3. Reblogged this on Cinema Schminema and commented:
    And yet another brave soul has taken on Antfarm Dickhole… 🙂

  4. I promise ya, Misty, I’m staying waaaay clear of this movie.

  5. This movie keeps getting passed around like a bad rash. I see it has now infected you as well. I have been double dog dared to watch it so I might just have to break down and do it. Of course I might like watching paint dry. Not sure which is more entertaining. Nice review. Thanks for suffering for your fellow bloggers.

    • Thanks for stopping by in spite of the rampant infection. The movie will be more entertaining than watching paint dry, but watching paint isn’t nearly as harmful for your health. I’d be happy to hear about your experiences watching the movie. Enjoy!

  6. I barely made it through the trailer…

  7. […] the question on most people’s minds is the inevitable: Why did you hate this film so much? I read a blog post the other day, wherein a fellow reviewer discussed why he watches bad movies, with reasons that […]

  8. […] the question on most people’s minds is the inevitable: Why did you hate this film so much? I read a blog post the other day (make that month), wherein a fellow reviewer discussed why he watches bad movies, […]

  9. […] the question on most people’s minds is the inevitable: Why did you hate this film so much? I read a blog post the other day (make that month), wherein a fellow reviewer discussed why he watches bad movies, […]

Leave a Reply

 
The Abyssal Vault

Smart Reviews, (Mostly) Dumb Movies, Some Spoilers

Three Sentence Critic

Short three sentence reviews of film & TV.

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

Craft Fear

Handmade horror with a side of suds.

Daniel's Film Reviews

Movie reviews - read, enjoy, comment, and share.

Isaacs Picture Conclusions

An Honest Review from an Honest (and Gassy) Guy (who doesn't take things too seriously)

Bad Film Friday

The best of the worst of Hollywood, Cable TV, and Direct-to-Video Films

dan-harris.net

Website and blog of sci-fi author Dan Harris.

MARKED MOVIES

"all of life's riddles are answered in the movies"

Cinema Schminema

I'd rather be watching THIS!

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

