Snowfire

The snow burns every surface it touches,
Coating everything in white fire.
I give my body up to the windy inferno
When I step outside into a storm of pallid ash.
I sweat in the layers of clothing, coat and boots,
That guard against the wind and snowdrift
That sear my cheeks and ungloved fingers.
Scorched by a torrid noreaster, I push
Against the stinging wind to get to the store,
To buy food and tea for a hot meal.
At times, I miss those Texan days in summer,
The gentle breeze blowing away the sun
Bleached into my skin, chilling me.
All I knew then was ice water
And shade, the blowing fan that put me to sleep.
But it won’t be long before I return home
To visit family and friends for a crisp Christmas,
Not long before I’m free of blistering sleet,
Chilling with friends, margarita in hand.

~ by vincentwolfram on November 8, 2012.

3 Responses to “Snowfire”

  1. Oh man, I love conceits and paradoxes.

  2. *sighs* I want to visit Alabama now…except my parents tell me it’s actually cold there too…

Leave a Reply

 
The Abyssal Vault

Smart Reviews, (Mostly) Dumb Movies, Some Spoilers

Three Sentence Critic

Short three sentence reviews of film & TV.

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

Craft Fear

Handmade horror with a side of suds.

Daniel's Film Reviews

Movie reviews - read, enjoy, comment, and share.

Isaacs Picture Conclusions

An Honest Review from an Honest (and Gassy) Guy (who doesn't take things too seriously)

Bad Film Friday

The best of the worst of Hollywood, Cable TV, and Direct-to-Video Films

dan-harris.net

Website and blog of sci-fi author Dan Harris.

MARKED MOVIES

"all of life's riddles are answered in the movies"

Cinema Schminema

I'd rather be watching THIS!

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

